Historic Downtown SAlem
Beyond our unique shops, our downtown district full of beautiful architecture & history that shaped our world. Whether you're taking in the beauty of Market Street or visiting the remains of the Salem Oak Tree, the stories and our town holds is palpable.
Market Street Historic District was added to the National Register of Historic Places on April 10, 1975.
In the 1830s, Abigail emerged as an active figure in the Underground Railroad movement. An abolitionist, Abigail came into contact with leading anti-slavery figures, including William Still, Lucretia Mott, and orator James Miller McKim, who came to Salem to lecture as their guest. His program, however, attracted a mob of anti-abolitionists who pelted the Goodwin house with sticks and rocks. From then on her home became a place for freedom seekers-- providing shelter, clothing, & food.
Built as Ford's Hotel in 1891. In 1919, it was converted to Salem County Memorial Hospital in memoriam to WWI soldiers and sailors. Opened with 30 beds, 12 physicians and surgeons. First year 1093 patients treated. 1951 Hospital vacated building relocating to Mannington Township. 1989 Renovation as the "Fenwick Building" for County government offices.
This single-room cabin is a rare remaining example of hand-hewn, white cedar plank construction and reflects a traditional Swedish cabin. This cabin, with its glazed windows, is more elaborate than those typically constructed in the seventeenth-century. Known as stugas, which translates to “room inside.” These cabins were built in small clusters or stood alone, depending on the size of the farm. Swedish settlers established small communities throughout Salem, clearing only enough land to farm.
Built in 1735 using locally manufactured bricks and was enlarged in 1817 and 1908. In 1774, the courthouse was the site of a county petition to King George III to address various colonial grievances and for authorizing county relief to the citizens of Boston to assist them from the King's sanctions from the Boston Tea Party incident. The courthouse is also the site of the legend of Colonel Robert Gibbon Johnson proving the edibility of the tomato.
The Municipal Building is located within Salem's Broadway Historic District, which contains a number of notable eighteenth and nineteenth century structures. Originally constructed for the Salem National Bank Company in 1888, it is a most exuberant example of the Queen Anne style, designed by Philadelphia architect David Evans. In 1924 the City purchased the building for use as the seat of local government and moved it to a new location on New Market Street.
Broadway Historic District was added to the National Register of Historic Places on March 5, 1992.
Founded in 1676, built 1772 The meetinghouses in Salem, Haddonfield and Burlington were the most important ones, organizationally speaking, in the state during the eighteenth century; they were the sites of the Quarterly Meetings where important decisions were taken. The Salem Meeting began in 1676, shortly after John Fenwick's initial settlement.
The most famous New Jersey tree. Estimated to be nearly 600 years old before its demise in 2019. Local lore maintains that John Fenwick met with the indigenous beneath its branches.